What’s new on the gluten-free market? This isn’t an issue you hear as often as you see advertisements for other types of dieting products, but if you’ve been following a diet for some time now, you may be pleasantly surprised at the changes it can bring. The best thing to do, if you’re looking for advice about a new diet, is to consult a dietitian.
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley, and oats, and it has been used for centuries as a means of producing foods that were nutritionally dense, yet also had a high degree of starch. Today, however, people who have developed celiac disease are increasingly seeing that gluten can be dangerous, especially for those with poor immune systems.
As a result, many people are turning to gluten-free products to make their diets healthier. Many people who suffer from Celiac disease turn to a wheat-free or gluten-free diet to help control their symptoms. However, there are some people who feel that using a diet free of gluten will actually make them sicker. It’s not clear which type of person you fall into, though. There are some things you can do to try to keep yourself safe if you think you may want to go on a gluten-free or wheat-free diet.
If you’ve just been diagnosed with Celiac disease or are still having symptoms, you should know that a wheat-free or gluten-free diet is not ideal. However, there are some things you can do to make the transition easier and to keep your symptoms under control while on the diet. One good idea is to buy a gluten-free bread machine. Most bread machines have several settings, which allows you to cook with gluten-free ingredients such as whole wheat flour and oatmeal and to bake without any gluten ingredients, like potato starch or potatoes.
If you’re not careful when choosing your breads, it can be easy to consume more than the recommended amount of gluten-free breads. It’s a good idea to double check what you’re getting before you bake. Another thing to consider is that gluten-free breads often taste better than regular white bread. and that you can substitute a slice or two of white bread with one loaf of the wheat-free bread, so you can enjoy bread without any added flavors. such as butter and spices.
If you are on a wheat-free or gluten-free diet, you should be aware of how you handle your food after meals. While you’re eating, you can’t eat food items that contain gluten like rice, corn, or potatoes. Some restaurants won’t let you eat these grains if they contain gluten, so it can be helpful to keep a list of your food intake. Don’t assume you’ll have to cut out dairy and eggs, though. Some restaurants serve both soy milk and rice in place of white milk, so you won’t miss out on that!
When you’re eating out, be aware of any condiments or seasonings that may be made with rice, corn, or potatoes. You should read the labels carefully and choose those that are not made with gluten. Also, if you have a sweet tooth, be sure to read the labels for sugar and any additives (sugar substitutes). It can be hard to resist those sweet treats when they’re full of gluten. and grain, but sometimes it’s worth it to skip the breads and meats and replace them with your new healthier choices.
While your diet may not be perfect, don’t lose hope. Many people with Celiac disease have managed to return to normal, healthier diets by eating healthier foods like vegetables, fruit, nuts, seeds, and low-fat dairy. The key is to have a realistic expectation and be patient.